• Appointment With Specialist
  • Treatment
  • Scan
  • All Specialties
  • Location
Dr Romesh Angunawela
BM, MD, FRCOphth, FRCSEd, Cert LRS
No reviews+ Add review
Book appointment - in less than 60 seconds
Mon 15/07
Tue 16/07
Thu 18/07
Fri 19/07
Sat 20/07
Sun 21/07
Enquire for availability.
Enquire for availability.
Enquire for availability.



General Medical Council: 4422174




Mr Romesh Angunawela BM, MD, FRCOphth, FRCSCert LRS is a Consultant Eye Surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Trust, where he is a specialist in corneal surgery, cataract surgery, keratoconus, Fuchs' dytrophy, corneal transplantation, lens surgery, and laser eye surgery. He holds the Certificate in Laser Refractive Surgery from the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (Cert LRS). He also holds the following positions:


Director of Corneal Training at Moorfields Eye Hospital

- Clinical Director Moorfields Lions Eye Bank

- Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer at the University of London, St George's Medical School.

Honorary Lecturer - University College London Institute of Ophthalmology


Mr. Angunawela graduated from Medical School (BM) in 1997 where he was awarded the Altounyan Prize for research into the prevention of stroke related brain injury. He did his ophthalmic training at St Thomas' and Moorfields Eye Hospital in London. In 2003 he was selected by Professor John Marshall (OBE), one of the inventors of laser eye surgery, as a research fellow and spent 2 years researching novel mechanisms to alter wound healing responses to  laser eye surgery. He received a doctorate (MD) from the University of London for his thesis on corneal wound healing after laser eye surgery and has published nearly 50 scientific papers in peer reviewed medical journals, largely focusing on laser vision correction and is actively engaged in research.

Following his residency training at Moorfields Eye Hospital, he completed 2 and a half years of advanced specialisation as a fellow in corneal and laser eye surgery in the highly sought after fellowship programs at Moorfields Eye Hospital and at the Singapore National Eye Centre. He was awarded the prestigious Pfizer fellowship award by the Royal College of Ophthalmologists in 2010. 

Mr Angunawela is registered as a specialist with the GMC and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (FRCOphth) and theRoyal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (FRCSEd). He is  a member of the American, European and UK and Ireland Societies of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS, ESCRS, UKISCRS), American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). 

His team were awarded the prestigious National Patient Safety Award in 2017. He was awarded an Achievement Award by the American Academy of Ophthalmologists in 2011, and has received the Founders Gold Medal 3 times from the UK and Ireland Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons. He is a regular speaker at international conferences and instructs on a number of courses to other ophthalmologists on cataract surgery and laser eye surgery.

+ Read More

Medical Procedures

  • Laser eye surgery
  • Cataract Surgery
  • Laser cataract surgery
  • Multifocal lens surgery
  • Corneal transplantation
  • Fuchs dystrophy treatment
  • Keratoconus treatment
  • Corneal collagen crosslinking
  • Artificial iris surgery for iris reconstruction


+ Read More

Special Interests

  • Laser eye surgery
  • Cataract surgery
  • Keratoconus treatment including cross-linking
  • Fuchs corneal dystrophy
  • Corneal surgery / disease
  • Corneal Transplant including small incision cell transplantation




  • BM - University of Southampton 1997
  • FRCOphth - Royal College of Ophthalmologists
  • MD - University of London
  • FRCSEd -Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • Cert LRS - Royal College of Ophthalmologists


  • 2017 National Patient Safety Award - overall prize
  • 2016 Certificate in Laser Refractive Surgery - Royal College of Ophthalmologists
  • 2016 Best Paper - Refractive Surgery, UKISCRS
  • 2015, 2016 Commendation for teaching - St George's Medical School
  • 2012 Best Paper, American Academy of Ophthalmologists
  • 2012 Founders Medal, UKISCRS
  • 2012 Best Paper. Eucornea, Milan
  • 2011 Video Prize. ESCRS
  • 2011 Achievement Award. American Academy of Ophthalmologists
  • 2011 Best paper Zeiss Laser User Group meeting.
  • 2011 Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) Santen Award
  • 2010 Pfizer Ophthalmic Fellowship Award
  • 2010 Moorfields Surgeons Association
  • 2010 Allergan Research Fellowship Award. Runner up
  • 2009 Fight for Sight Travel Award Finalist
  • 2008 American Academy of Ophthalmology, ’Best of Show’ Award
  • 2008 Allergan Research Fellowship Award.  Winner
  • 2008 Finalist Alcon Glaucoma Case Prize
  • 2007 Founders Gold Medal. UKISCRS
  • 2007 Cataract Surgery Category Prize. ESCRS
  • 2007 Allergan Research Fellowship Award. Runner up
  • 2007 Best video prize. ASCRS San Diego, USA.
  • 2005 Bausch and Lomb Prize.UKISCRS
  • 2004 Founders Gold Medal. UKISCRS Winner
  • 2004 British Eye Research Foundation Fellowship grant
  • 2003 Sir William Lister/Dorey Bequest Prize
  • 2003 St Thomas Hospital Teaching Fund Award
  • 1997 The Altounyan Research Prize