• Appointment With Specialist
  • Treatment
  • Scan
  • All Specialties
  • Location
Professor Timothy Evans
Cardiothoracic Surgery
No reviews+ Add review



General Medical Council:




Professor Timothy Evans completed a Medical Research Council Travelling Fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco, from 1984 to 86.

Professor Evans qualified in 1979 at the University of Manchester and underwent post registration medical training at the London postgraduate hospitals, and at the University of Sheffield where he completed a PhD.

He then went on to complete his post-doctoral research as an MRC travelling fellow at the University of California San Francisco. He then returned to London in 1985 and received further training in pulmonary and critical care medicine. Since 1987 he has been Consultant in Intensive Care & Thoracic Medicine, Royal Brompton Hospital, and London; and from 1996 Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, Imperial College London. H

Dr Evans is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. He has been an honorary Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine to the Army since 1997. He is Medical Director (from 2006) and Deputy Chief Executive (from 2008) of the Royal Brompton & Harefield Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. He was Lead Fellow for the Future Hospital Commission of the Royal College of Physicians (2012-2013) and is Editor in Chief, Future Hospital Journal (since 2013). e is Trustee of the Nuffield Trust (from 2014) and Board member and Trustee of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine. He has been Academic Vice President of the Royal College of Physicians (2009-12), a Clinical Senior Investigator of the National Institute of Health Research (2010-2013) and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (2010-13).

+ Read More

Medical Procedures

  • Intensive care
  • Thoracic medicine
  • Clinical pre-operative assessments

+ Read More

Special Interests

  • Vascular biology of the critically ill
  • Research into acute respiratory distress syndrome


Primary Medical Qualification

MRCS 1979 Royal College of Surgeons of England

LRCP 1979 Royal College of Physicians of London

MB BS 1979 University of London